• Kathrein’s pioneering K-BOW system in a live test

    Rosenheim, 01.10.2014

    Kathrein presents its innovative system solution K-BOW now in operation. The system allows the provision of high quality flexible and demand-orientated capacity communication within buildings, and it saves energy. Thus providing the intelligent solution to the problem of weak radio signals in...

Kathrein is one of the key technological leaders in the telecommunications technology sector. Due to the innovative strength and outstanding product quality, the company is one of the world’s top manufacturers of antenna systems and electronic components. The Kathrein Group runs six facilities in Rosenheim as well as 18 production facilities world-wide. The operation has a workforce of approximately 8,000. 

In the field of mobile communications and filter systems, Kathrein delivers the technology required by operators across the globe, allowing optimum and future-proof network design. The company specializes in wireless service provision in buildings, where approximately 80 per cent of all data traffic now takes place. Kathrein also offers a wide product range and a multitude of innovative solutions in the field of satellite reception and broadband communications, such as products for home networking. Moreover, the company is a trusted supplier world-wide for broadcast antennas, providing customized solutions for the most difficult challenges. Thanks to their automotive antenna solutions, Kathrein is also an experienced partner of the automotive industry, having received the Daimler Supplier award in 2013.

More than 500 engineers and technicians are employed in the group’s Research and Development departments. Roughly ten per cent of sales revenue is invested in research and development every year. The dynamic nature of the markets in which the Kathrein Group operates demands a high level of innovation; as a result, the company generates over 60% of their sales with products that are less than two years old.

Kathrein ist einer der Technologieführer im Bereich Telekommunikationstechnik. Das Unternehmen gehört aufgrund seiner Innovationskraft und der herausragenden Qualität seiner Produkte zur Weltspitze bei Antennensystemen und Elektronik-Komponenten. Zur Kathrein-Firmengruppe gehören u.a. sechs Standorte in Rosenheim und weltweit 18 Produktionsstätten. Knapp 8.000 Mitarbeiter sind in der Kathrein-Gruppe beschäftigt.

Im Bereich Mobilfunk und Filtersysteme stellt Kathrein die Technik bereit, die Anbieter weltweit benötigen, um ihre Netzwerke optimal und damit zukunftssicher zu gestalten. Ein spezielles Augenmerk liegt auf der Mobilfunkversorgung innerhalb von Gebäuden, wo inzwischen rund 80 Prozent des Datenvolumens stattfinden. Auch im Bereich Satellitenempfang und Breitbandkommunikation bietet Kathrein ein umfangreiches Produktspektrum sowie innovative Lösungen u.a. zur Heimvernetzung. Das Unternehmen ist zudem weltweit gefragter Lieferant für Rundfunk-Sendeantennen mit kundenspezifischen Lösungen auch für schwierigste Herausforderungen. Bei Antennenlösungen für Fahrzeuge ist Kathrein bewährter Partner der Automobilindustrie, das Unternehmen wurde beispielsweise 2013 mit dem Supplier Award von Daimler ausgezeichnet.

In den Entwicklungsabteilungen der Kathrein-Gruppe forschen mehr als 500 Ingenieure und Techniker. Rund zehn Prozent des Umsatzes werden jährlich für Forschung und Entwicklung ausgegeben. Die Dynamik der Märkte, in denen sich die Kathrein-Gruppe bewegt, verlangt eine hohe Innovationsrate. So erzielt das Unternehmen mehr als 60 Prozent seines Umsatzes mit Produkten, die nicht älter als zwei Jahre sind.